One of Us: Coach Ashley Koester

One+of+Us%3A+Coach+Ashley+Koester

Tommy Dawson , Reporter

1. Where did you attend high school and what was your graduation year?  I attended Cherokee High School and graduated in 2015.

2. College Info

  • Where: Montclair State University
  • Degrees Held: MAT with a TSD certification and a BS in Physical Education and health. I also have Drivers ED and Youth Mental Health in the Schools Certifications

3. Professional History: This is my first teaching job!

4. What are you teaching here at HHS? Physical Education and Health. I am also the head girls soccer coach and the assistant girls basketball coach.

5. Why were you inspired to go into education? My dad is a teacher/ coach and constantly brought me to his classroom and practices when I was little. It was one of my favorite things to do as a kid. Because of this I don’t think there was ever a time where I didn’t answer “a teacher” when I was asked what I wanted to be when I grew up.

6. Finish this statement: My least favorite thing about my job is not getting to see all of my students in class every day.

7. Finish this statement: The thing I enjoy the most about doing my job  is having the ability to help students transfer what they learn in my class to their own personal lives, which helps them be healthier and more active individuals.

8. Finish this statement: My biggest fear is that we’re never going to be able to stop wearing our masks.

9. Finish this statement: One thing about me that would surprise people is I am deaf in my right ear.

10. Finish this statement: When I´m not in school, my hobbies include going to the gym, coaching various sports teams that I am a part of, reading, snowboarding when it is cold out and going to the beach when it is warmer outside!

11. Finish this statement: One thing I have learned about working at HHS is everyone is family here!